The manor house is mentioned in historical records as early as 1500. Around 1760, with the change of owners, the von Groth period began, during which the manor underwent its greatest changes, and Naukšēni – its greatest economic prosperity, becoming one of the most financially profitable estates in Vidzeme. The new Naukšēni Manor Castle (1843) is a testament to this greatness. The magnificent two-storey building, built in the German Empire style, impressed with its layout, exterior decoration, ornate windows and the so-called “Swiss-style” porch (late 19th century).
In 1919, Naukšēni Manor was the victim of war: the communists barbarically destroyed almost the entire interior and furniture. At the end of the same year, the Ministry of Agriculture took over the manor.
The building was rebuilt according to the project of architect Arnolds Čuibe (1938): wall and ceiling paintings were painted, parquet floor was replaced with a plank floor, the historic stoves were removed, and the dining room was rebuilt.
After the Second World War, the Naukšēni Palace was once again the place of children and young people’s chatter: it housed an orphanage and, from 1957, a vocational-technical school. After the reconstruction (1998), the Naukseni Training and Re-education Institution has administration and training rooms, an event hall and a small hotel. All the work has been commendable; with as few alterations as possible, the remaining historical evidence has been preserved.
Today: the manor house, stables, barn, cheese factory or clock tower and park are a cultural monument of national importance.
To find out more about the opportunities to rent/buy Naukšeni Manor, please contact Inita Niedzviedzis, Senior Business Support Specialist at Valmiera Municipality, by phone: 64207157 or e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org